Ravioli Road to a Better Diet

So it’s another lonely night at home since my husband is in class. Last week he mentioned he wanted to take baby steps towards changing our diet to become pollo-vegetarians, which is classification of vegetarians who aren’t really vegetarians. I guess simply put, he would like to avoid eating red meat (beef, lamb, and maybe pork) and focus on eating more fruits, vegetables, seafood/fish and chicken.In an effort to support him and his valid reasons why, tonight’s dinner was meatless – and lazy. I just pulled out frozen homemade spinach & feta ravioli I made months ago. With just a quick tomato sauce, some splashes of red wine vinegar and seasonings, dinner was done.

Here’s the ridiculously simple tomato sauce I made to jazz up my spinach & feta ravioli:

2 large ripe tomatoes, diced
1/4 chicken broth
2 teaspoons italian seasoning
2 cloves minced garlic
2 splashes of red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons sugar
To taste: salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder
To garnish: chiffonade of fresh basil

In a saucepan, combine ingredients and allow to simmer until warmed through.

Leave a comment