Chicken & Mango Salsa Tortilla Stack

Not sure how the weather is in your corner of the world but today is horrible here in Chicago. I’m so thankful I did all my grocery shopping and errands yesterday before the big ‘blizzard’ hit!

To make some room in my freezer, I roasted a large chicken last night which I coated with a cinnamon chipotle rub and stuffed with 2 chopped limes. Delicious! We enjoyed some of the chicken for dinner yesterday with leftover Arroz con Gandules. I actually roast meats quite a bit for a few reasons…

  1. Often times, large cuts of meat (pork, beef, chicken) cost less per pound than others.
  2. Roasting a large cut of meat allows me to be creative and make other dishes using leftovers… stretching the cost a bit more!

So with leftovers of this Cinnamon Chipotle Lime Chicken on hand, I took a peek in my fridge to see what I could come up with. The Pièce de résistance? … Chicken & Mango Salsa Tortilla Stack! It’s a common dish layering tortillas, salsa, cheese and meat which is then baked. Very similar to a lasagna only kept stacked.

Chicken & Mango Salsa Tortilla Stack
original Joelen recipe

1 cup Mexican blend shredded cheese
1-2 cups Mango Salsa (or whatever salsa you have on hand)
1 cooked roast chicken breast (or use rotisserie chicken)
5-6 corn tortillas (6 inch size)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a round baking dish, spread about 1-2 tablespoons of salsa.
Place one tortilla over the salsa coated dish.
Top with 1/4 cup of shredded cheese.
Top with another tortilla.
Top tortilla with slices of chicken until covered.
Spread a few tablespoons of salsa over chicken.
Top with another tortilla.
Continue layering and stacking in whatever way you’d like until all ingredients are used.
The top layer should end with a tortilla and enough salsa to cover the top.
Bake uncovered in preheated oven for 30-45 minutes.
Serve with sour cream, a sprinkling of shredded cheese and a dollop of guacamole.

Before…
….After!

9 Responses

  1. YUM – that looks delicious!!!

  2. That chicken looks so yummy! Perfect for a cold day.

  3. wow!! That looks so delicious! great creation, joelen

  4. Wow, that looks fabulous!

  5. Delicious and bookmarked!:D

    I have finally finished the Tasty Tools Events entry, will post it in a few and email you the link.

    BTW, thanks for the Tea gift, much appreciated. Happy Holidays! Mwah.

  6. Yum, yum, yum! I’m with you on roasting meats and using the leftovers. Such a smart thing to do these days with the economy.

  7. That looks delish and very comforting in my cold weather I am having.

  8. Wow! This looks so wonderful. I love these flavors. I bet it makes the whole house smell so good!

  9. This looks delicious! I tagged you on my blog and hope you’ll play along. See my blog for details. 🙂

Leave a Reply

